FMLA Abuse: 10 Ways To Spot It – and Stop It

July 27, 2011

1:30 to 3:00 p.m. (EST)

Webinar Times:

10:30 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. (PST)
11:30 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. (MST)
12:30 to 2:00 p.m. (CST)
1:30 to 3:00 p.m. (EST)

Do you have an employee on intermittent FMLA leave and suspect that he’s abusing it? Join us for an in-depth webinar all about effectively, and legally, nipping leave abuses in the bud. You’ll learn how to prove abuse and how to legally stop it through the following topics:

  • The type of notice you may require before honoring leave requests
  • How to spot patterns of abuse, including “Monday/Friday syndrome”
  • How a worker’s failure to obtain continuing treatment could work to your advantage
  • How to draft your attendance policy so that you can take disciplinary action against workers who don’t provide adequate documentation for repeated absences
  • How to obtain complete and sufficient medical certifications/re-certifications
  • When you can – and should – request a second opinion to drill down into whether an employee is really suffering from a serious health condition
  • Other practical steps for reducing FMLA abuse, including how to minimize disruptions caused by an employee’s frequent absences due to doctor’s appointments
  • How much over-the-phone (and even in-person) checking up you may do on workers who are out on medical leave, without violating federal law
  • When you can disqualify employees on leave from achievement and other bonuses
  • What it means to “interfere” with workers’ FMLA rights, and how to ensure that your quest to fight off habitual abusers doesn’t result in legal liability for your company


Wayne E. Pinkstone

For more information or to register, click here.

This program has been approved for 1.5 recertification credit hours toward PHR and SPHR recertification through the Human Resource Certification Institute (HRCI).