Important Changes to Minimum Wage Laws for Employers in New JerseyOctober 7, 2014 – Alerts Labor & Employment Alert
New Jersey employers must ensure that they are aware of the minimum wage increase scheduled to take effect on Thursday, January 1, 2015. On January 1, the minimum wage in New Jersey will increase from $8.25 to $8.38 per hour. Every January 1st thereafter, the minimum wage will be subject to increase based upon a formula tied to the Consumer Price Index.
Accordingly, employers should plan to pay the new minimum wage rate and ensure that no hourly workers are earning less than $8.38 per hour on January 1, 2015. For employers that do not have a work week commencing on Thursday, the day January 1st will fall on in 2015, implementing the change midweek may be cumbersome and require advance planning.