Minimum Wage Rates To Rise in Several States

December 2011Alerts Labor & Employment Department Alert

Beginning on January 1, 2012, the minimum wage will increase in eight states (including a number of local municipalities), requiring employers to pay increased wages to their minimum wage employees. The following chart summarizes rates changes that have been enacted into law and will change as of the new year.

State

2012 Minimum Wage

2011 Minimum Wage Raise in Rate

Arizona

$7.65 per hour

$7.35 per hour

$0.30 per hour

Colorado

$7.64 per hour

$7.36 per hour

$0.28 per hour

Florida

$7.67 per hour

$7.31 per hour

$0.36 per hour

Montana

$7.65 per hour

$7.35 per hour

$0.30 per hour

Ohio

$7.70 per hour

$7.40 per hour

$0.30 per hour

Oregon

$8.80 per hour

$8.50 per hour

$0.30 per hour

San Francisco*

$10.24 per hour

$9.92 per hour

$0.32 per hour

Vermont

$8.46 per hour

$8.15 per hour

$0.31 per hour

Washington

$9.04 per hour

$8.67 per hour

$0.37 per hour

In addition, employers in five of these eight states may also have to pay higher direct wages to tipped employees.

State

2012 Tipped Minimum Wage

2011 Tipped Minimum Wage

Raise in Rate

Arizona

$4.65 per hour

$4.35 per hour

$0.30 per hour

Colorado

$4.62 per hour

$4.34 per hour

$0.28 per hour

Florida

$4.65 per hour

$4.29 per hour

$0.36 per hour

Ohio

$3.85 per hour

$3.70 per hour

$0.15 per hour

Vermont

$4.10 per hour

$3.95 per hour

$0.15 per hour

As always, it is imperative to keep abreast of all changes in minimum wage laws as the penalties for non-compliance can be severe. Make sure to confirm proper pay rates with payroll vendors, accountants and any other service providers or individuals involved with executing payroll.

For more information about this Alert, please contact Carolyn D. Richmond at [email protected] or another member of Fox Rothschild’s New York Labor & Employment Department.

View entire publication (Pdf file).