Delaware Imposes Quarantine Requirement For Out-Of-State TravelersMarch 30, 2020 – Alerts
In an effort to fight the spread of COVID-19, Delaware Gov. John Carney modified his State Of Emergency declaration to require travelers entering the state to self-quarantine for 14 days or the duration of their time in Delaware, whichever is shorter. The quarantine requirement went into effect at 8 a.m. on March 30 and applies retroactively to anyone who has entered the state in the last 14 days.
The order does not apply to travelers who are merely passing through the state and does not affect "Essential Businesses," or their employees, which are exempted by the governor's Fifth Modification of the Declaration of a State of Emergency. Additionally, the self-quarantine requirement does not apply to individuals commuting into Delaware to work for an "Essential Business."
Failure to comply with this order is a criminal offense. The Delaware Department of Justice has issued guidance to state and local law enforcement with authority to conduct traffic stops on vehicles registered to other states concerning public health and quarantine inquiries.